PBS SPOTLIGHT



Assistant Professor Dorainne Green was one of five tenure-track IUB faculty members to receive the 2024 IU Outstanding Junior Faculty Award, which identifies the most promising untenured, tenure-track faculty and assists them in further developing their research or creative work. Her research on social identity threat investigates how such threat shapes cognitive, psychological, behavioral, and physiological outcomes that, in turn, increase disparities in such domains as health and achievement. As one reviewer said, Green is "a socially engaged scholar who seeks to make the field a better and more inclusive learning environment."



Professor Bill Hetrick was awarded a 2024 Provost Professorship, developed to honor those who have achieved local, national and international distinction in both teaching and research/creative activity. Hetrick has made seminal contributions to the field of psychological and brain sciences in establishing the role of the cerebellum in schizophrenia and cannabis use disorders and in the understanding of associative learning difficulties in schizophrenia. He is also recognized as an outstanding mentor by students and junior faculty alike, as well as an outstanding former PBS chair, who served the department for 11 years.



Senior Lecturer Rick Hullinger received the 2024 Kathy O. Smith Morley Career Distinguished Teaching Award for instructional faculty. "Rick," said one reviewer "has been teaching at IU for 13 years, and every one of those years is marked by his passionate, innovative, and rigorous approach to teaching. His focus on student success through a growth mindset approach and his ability to build a strong rapport with his students has transformed the experience of innumerable students in courses many have previously dreaded."



Assistant Professor Ben Motz is among the 50 Tools Competition winners from 18 countries across the globe. Motz was awarded \$300,000, the highest of three award categories, to develop Terracotta Messages, a brand-new service within Terracotta, the platform he developed and manages, which will make possible rigorous experimental research on personalized messages that teachers send to students in real classes. Terracotta itself is a web-based plugin to the Canvas learning management system, enabling researchers to conduct studies directly in authentic online learning environments. Winners were chosen from a field of nearly 2,000 contestants from 92 countries across all continents.



Distinguished Professor Rob Nosofsky is a "partner investigator" on a new grant from the Australian Research Council Discovery Project to explore the memorability of real-world images in collaboration with two scientists at the University of Melbourne in Australia: Adam Osth in the Department of Psychological Sciences, principal investigator of the study, and Kris Ehinger in the Department of Computing and Information Systems, a co-investigator. The project, for which they were awarded nearly \$400,000, integrates cognitive models of memory with machine learning methods of computer science.



Undergraduate Academic Advisor Serena Ostrander won the 2024 IU College of Arts and Sciences Advisor of the Year Award. Ostrander has served as an Academic Advisor at PBS since October 2015. This was Ostrander's fourth nomination for the student-nominated award and their second time as a finalist, a sign of how much PBS students value and appreciate their knowledge and efforts. In the advising philosophy statement Ostrander conveys their vision of advising as helping students to navigate "the complicated decorum of the University" while also "meeting students where they are."



Distinguished Professor Olaf Sporns was awarded the Network Science Society Euler Award, which recognizes the most outstanding research discoveries in the field of network science, especially those that changed paradigms or assumptions. Sporns was acknowledged for his "pioneering contributions to connectomics and network neuroscience, illuminating the complex structural and functional network organization of the brain."

PBS graduate students **Emma Herms** and **Linnea Sepe-Forrest** were each awarded a research fellowship from the National Institute of Mental Health for their work as co-principal investigators in the labs of Professors Krista Wisner and Brian D'Onofrio respectively. Herms will pursue her project, "Computational modeling of interoceptive perception across the psychosis spectrum," while Sepe-Forrest will pursue her work on "Real-world national evidence on the predictors and consequences of pediatric antipsychotic use."

IU SENIOR RECOGNITION AWARDS

Several PBS undergraduates received 2024 IU Senior Recognition Awards, recognizing outstanding senior students for their scholarship, leadership, and service to Indiana University during the students' undergraduate years on the Bloomington campus.

Deion Ziwawo (Psychology) and **Sahithi Thippana** (Organizational + Business
Psychology) received the Kenneth R. R. Gros
Louis Scholarship. The scholarship recognizes
students who demonstrate academic excellence,
leadership in student activities, and a
distinguished record of service as a good
university citizen.

Trinity Barnes received the Herman B Wells Award. Barnes is graduating with a B.S. in Psychology and a B.A. in Spanish with a minor in Black Cinema Studies and a certificate in Clinical Psychological Sciences.

Prabhvir Singh Lakhan is the recipient of the Clara Javan Goodbody Award given to a graduating senior for use in pursuing graduate study. Lakhan is graduating with a B.S. in Neuroscience and minors in Chemistry and Psychology.



A recent IU Impact blogpost featured **PBS junior Izzy Branam** who is studying
organizational and business psychology.
Branam recently became an intern in the IU
Innovation and Commercialization Office, which
provides interns with hands-on experience that
includes formal training in licensing in
innovation and commercialization, marketing,
intellectual property protection and contracts.

Branam was already an entrepreneur at the age of 13, when he founded Xygen Records, a company which grew into an international record label for teenage musicians that, at its peak, had over 100 artists under management. Just a few years later, Branam and two other high school seniors launched a software startup, Fia Recruit, to help job seekers find the ideal employer. In 2022, Fia Recruit received \$20,000 in funding through an Elevate Nexus pitch competition for central Indiana, as well as a \$1.5 million valuation. Branam is now part of the team working for Relate XR, an IU-affiliated startup that combines psychology with virtual reality technology to treat substance use disorders. He also serves as a community manager at IU Innovates, the Indiana Universitywide initiative launched in 2023 that expands support for students and faculty in the creation and growth of startup ventures.

PBS STUDENT HONORS&AWARDS

At the annual J.R. Kantor Undergraduate Honors & Award Ceremony, PBS awarded prizes and scholarships and recognized 12 graduating students for their completion of departmental honors theses. The event took place on April 26 at the IU Global and International Studies building.

Among the recipients of this year's PBS undergraduate student honors and awards:

J.R. Kantor Prize in Psychology
Clare Dierckman

David A. Barkmeier Neuroscience Award Grant Newman

Sydney Marie Brotheridge Neuroscience Scholarship

Ian Peasley

Excellence in Honors Thesis Research Award

Victoria Gray

Emma Mumper Memorial Scholarship in Psychological and Brain Sciences

Clare Dierckman





Robert Weiskopf Award

Anh Thu Pham

Phillip M. Summers Award

Sierra Leake

Departmental Honors in Psychology

Trinity Barnes
Hunter Butz
Victoria Gray
Austin Himebaugh
Jake Isenman
Ivy Liu

Departmental Honors in Neuroscience

Prabhvir Lakhan Kiara Moore Lilly O'Shea Jonathan Pyclik Daisy Robles-Magallanes Gabriella Smith