In the news


Professor Jack Bates received the 2022 Ernest R. Hilgard Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Psychological Association, Division 1. The award recognizes an individual who has made significant and long-lasting contributions to general psychology.


Professor Amanda Diekman was designated a 2022 IU Provost Professor. The honor recognizes those who have achieved local, national and international distinction in both teaching and research. Amanda’s work has focused on gender roles and how gender roles have changed or remained stable over time. She also studies why women opt out of STEM fields, as well as how motivation and social structure lead them to take on or withdraw from specific social roles. Amanda has collaborated with faculty and administrators across campus to advance institutional change for gender equity and STEM professions. She recently received a grant to partner with the 3M Corporation to develop an online program aimed at women – especially minority women – in IU STEM college classes to provide pathways to realizing communal aspects of their future STEM work. 


2022 PBS Trustee Teaching Award recipients were Aina Puce, Ehren Newman, Kristi DeBoeuf, and Kurt Hugenberg. Recognized for their extraordinary work as teachers and mentors in PBS, we are grateful for their exemplary contributions to PBS in educating the next generation of citizens and scholars.


On July 27, Distinguished Professor Olaf Sporns was named a fellow of the Network Science Society. Fellows are nominated by their peers and selected on the basis of their outstanding, exceptional, and significant life-long individual contributions to any area of network science research and to the community, locally and globally, of network scientists.


Among the 2022 Harlan Scholars Award winners were PBS graduate students Kelsey Guenther, Clare Johnson, Dylan Layfield, and Taylor Woodward. The Harlan Scholars Program recruits and trains students who conduct neuroscience research using animal models and focus on problems related to behavior, disease, and fundamental processes that affect health and wellbeing.


Teaching Professor Lisa Thomassen was awarded the 2022 President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching, a major university-wide award recognizing teaching excellence. Lisa joins only two other PBS faculty members, George Rebec and Dick McFall, as recipients of this prestigious award. In her outstanding work as a teacher, she has emphasized inclusion and community in STEM education and has actively recruited underrepresented students to IU and helped them overcome barriers to success.


On May 2, Class of 1948 Herman B Wells Endowed Professor Mary Murphy received the 2022 IU Distinguished Faculty Research Award and gave a lecture for this occasion titled “Faculty as Culture Creators: The Role of Faculty Mindset in Student Success.” In her lecture, she showed how fixed mindset cultures (cultures of genius) in college classrooms negatively affect all students – especially those from disadvantaged backgrounds – and how growth mindset cultures (cultures of growth) close equity gaps.

Mary was also one of five faculty honored with the Bloomington Faculty Council’s 2022 Inclusive Excellence Award, recognizing faculty who contribute to the enhancement of a diverse campus community.


Distinguished and Rudy Professor Emeritus James Townsend has recently received two major awards: 

The 2020 Senior Fellow Award from the Society for Mathematical Psychology for lifetime contributions, mentorship, and service to the field of mathematical psychology.

He also received the 2021 Award for Excellence in Psychophysics from the International Society for Psychophysics.


Distinguished Professor Jerome Busemeyer received the 2022 Senior Fellow Award from the Society for Mathematical Psychology for his lifetime contributions to mathematical psychology. He was also named a 2021 fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, recognized for his distinguished contributions in the development of computational models of cognition, particularly for dynamic models of decision-making and quantum models of cognition.


Distinguished Professor Robert Nosofsky, in collaboration with his former student Craig Sanders (Ph.D. 2018), a research engineer at Meta Reality Labs, won the 2022 Computational Brain & Behavior Outstanding Paper Award from the Society for Mathematical Psychology for their paper entitled “Training deep networks to construct a psychological feature space for a natural-object category domain.” 


Senior Sydney Adams was a recipient of the 2022 Provost’s Award for Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity in the category of Social and Applied Sciences. Adams was an undergraduate assistant in Professor Brian D’Onofrio’s Developmental Psychopathology Lab. She graduated with a major in psychology, a certificate in clinical psychological science, and a minor in epidemiology. Her honors thesis examined mental health inequities and barriers to treatment, particularly the racial and ethnic differences in ADHD diagnosis and treatment among adolescents. 


PBS senior Elvin Irihamye was one of 32 students in the U.S. to be named a Rhodes Scholar. A Herman B Wells Scholar and a neuroscience major, Irihamye is the 19th student in IU history to be named a Rhodes Scholar. He plans to pursue a Master of Science in applied digital health and a Master of Science in global health leadership or a Master of Business Administration at Oxford University.


PBS Professor Kurt Hugenberg is among the U.S. researchers leading a multi-institution $9 million NSF grant to understand how to protect data shared across distributed computing systems. Nearly $3 million of the overall grant will go directly to IU. Hugenberg and his collaborator Apu Kapadia, a professor of computer science at the IU Luddy School, will lead a nearly $1.5 million portion of the project. Together, they will help researchers understand the experiences of marginalized and vulnerable users and help designers build better systems that are both usable and secure for everyone.