In the news


Professor Emily Fyfe received the APS 2023 Janet Taylor Spence Award for Transformative Early Career Contributions, which honors creative and promising APS members who embody the future of the field. Fyfe studies cognitive development with an emphasis on how children think, learn, and solve problems in mathematics.


Professor Mary Murphy was named a 2022 Fellow in the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Murphy and IU Professor of Law Victor Quintanilla were named Schmidt Futures Innovation Fellows, a program that supports extraordinary individuals and teams from across disciplines who have big ideas for solving problems in science and society. (See story here)


Thirty-six PBS undergraduates were elected to the oldest and most prestigious academic honor society, Phi Beta Kappa, as psychology and neuroscience majors.


Pete Yonkman (B.A. ‘95, psychology and philosophy) was given the Distinguished Alumni Award by the IU College of Arts and Sciences. He is president of Cook Group and Cook Medical in Bloomington, Indiana, and he has been with the company for nearly 20 years.


Professor Mike Jones and Teaching Professor Lisa Thomassen became Kovener Teaching Fellows, a program that brings together twenty student and faculty fellows for discussion, exploration, and mentorship to explore how best to make college classrooms inclusive spaces where all students—regardless of their identity or background—can participate fully in the learning process.


Professor Peter Finn received a grant from IU’s Responding to the Addictions Crisis Grand Challenge for his research on Engaging College Students of Color as Partners in Research.


Professor Ben Motz’s open-source program, Terracotta, was named as one of three finalists for the XPRIZE Digital Learning Challenge. The winner will be determined in Spring 2023 with an accompanying award of $500,000.


Shirley Richardson, PBS program management assistant in the Cognitive Behavioral Therapy Clinic, was named one of six recipients of the IU Staff Merit Award.


PBS IT support manager Roger Rhodes was awarded the Audrey Newcomb + David Garraghty Staff Recognition Award, which annually recognizes an exemplary staff member who goes above and beyond their job description in service to the department.


Doctoral student Tobi Abubakare was named by Spectrum, a leading source of news on autism research, as one of the Spectrum “40 under 40” rising stars in autism research worldwide.